Ann Arbor Public Schools superintendent Patricia Green resigns

Patricia Green, superintendent of the Ann Arbor Public Schools, has resigned effective 90 days from April 10, 2013. Her letter of resignation, which was distributed by electronic mail to AAPS parents, follows.

Ruth from A2 Schools Muse has insightful commentary.


April 11, 2013

Dear Colleagues and AAPS Families:

Last evening, I gave President Deb Mexicotte a letter in which I asked her to
accept my resignation as Superintendent of Schools of the Ann Arbor Public
Schools, effective 90 days from yesterday. I shared with her that I plan to
retire during the summer after 43 years as a professional educator in public
education. I have been blessed to have truly enjoyed my 43-year career and I
thanked her and the Board for the opportunity to serve the Ann Arbor
community during these past two years.

To all my colleagues in Ann Arbor Public Schools, it has been a privilege to
work with you and I wish you well as you continue to maintain the highest
of standards for all of our children in the future. Ann Arbor is truly an
outstanding school district with so many dedicated staff members who care
enormously about children. Your commitment and dedication are beyond
compare!

As I retire, I hope to do some reflective writing about my many experiences
in education, do some traveling, and reconnect with family and friends who I
have neglected over the years!

Thank you to you all!

Patricia P. Green, Ph.D.

Superintendent of Schools

Ann Arbor Public Schools

Leave a Reply

