Software defined radio (SDR) for Mac OS X

I've started looking into software defined radio for Mac OS X. The goal is to take a cheap USB stick, plug it in to the Mac, and have it connect to software that will decode radio signals.

So far there's nothing obvious that's packaged as a single collection of software plus hardware, but that's not surprising.

My best notes to date are from Pinboard's t:sdr tag, which looks like it has a few dozen people sharing links.

I'll update this when I get more working details.

5 thoughts on “Software defined radio (SDR) for Mac OS X

  1. Edward Vielmetti

    The gqrx software include the rtl_ utilities; there’s documentation for rtl_fm
    http://kmkeen.com/rtl-demod-guide/index.html
    here which is helpful.
    The one-liner to play a local FM radio station looks like this on my system (adjust your paths accordingly)
    #!/bin/sh
    # wcbn – listen to wcbn fm
    /Applications/Gqrx.app/Contents/MacOS/rtl_fm -W -f 88.3M | ~/bin/play -r 32k -t raw -e signed-integer -b 16 -c 1 -V1 –

    Reply
  2. Dan KB6NU

    Just got my mini-dongle in the mail today. I hooked it up and downloaded gqrx, but the software can’t seem to find the hardware. I’m thinking that the dongle I bought doesn’t have the right chipset. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

