The mobile-only internet

Screen shot 2013-07-30 at 10.42.40 PMI was away from my laptop for a few days, but still had use of a mobile phone to view the internet through. (I also had a beach nearby and a room full of relatives). Here's some observations from the mobile-only internet.

First and foremost, it's a lot harder to type on a tiny screen with one finger poking at the glass. My online composition is sufficiently slow that I can't come anywhere near close to keeping up with my thoughts. So long writing is right out.

I didn't blog during the trip, and I'm not so sure that's a bad thing. There were a handful of occasions where I used Twitter, and I took a few photos that are sharable. Again, because it's so hard to type, it was easy to let the moment go past.

Twitter was too addictive, as a kind of intermittent reinforcement made it possible to repeatedly swipe down the screen, hear a little click, and then hope that the new tweets were interesting enough to make it worthwhile. I followed a few new busy accounts and was treated to inning by inning baseball scores and some random bits of new weather. I'll have to unfollow most of them now – that is one nice thing about Twitter compared to Facebook in that you can get a temporary enthusiasm and then shed it quickly.

Email was hard – I could keep up with a little bit of it, but it was daunting to try to answer messages that were long. I knew I was going to be back soon so I let it pile up. I'll have to try a longer experiment with email to see if I could either shift the context of the emails off to voice or direct message or text message so that there wasn't such a need to follow throug with endless paragraphs.

I could get used to the mobile-only Internet. It was possible to ignore a lot of what landed in my inbox over the span of a vacation, and the few longer or more important messages will be easy enough to answer.

Related articles

Internet 2020
social networks: the mobile phone experience, via Blackberry
Mobile Necessity: A Business Travelers Requirements
One fifth of travellers ignore plane mobile ban, survey finds
Leave a Reply

