Grand resolutions vs tiny habits

BJ Fogg is hosting an online program in which he encourages people to produce three tiny habits that they can learn to do in the span of a week. One of the ones I'm trying to do, for instance, is to take my medicine after the kitchen is clean. That's not a huge task – after all, the medicine cabinet is in the kitchen – but it's one that anchors a little task in a place where I know I can make it happen.

I don't know if that's a perfect example of a tiny habit, since cleaning the kitchen can take a while.

The practice of tiny habits is radically different from the typical New Year's Resolution which is grandiose, sweeping, and hard to fulfill. "Be a better person" is really different from "brush your teeth after you floss them" or "go to bed after the computer goes to sleep".

I'm trying to figure out the tiny habit that will get me writing regularly. Ideally, in some perfect world, I'd write more regularly. I don't want a "write a page every day" goal, because that's largely unmanagable – when would I do it? But perhaps I can set myself a tiny goal, that's more like "when I sit down at the computer after the kitchen is clean, open it up to my blog and start writing until I stop."

At the very least, that will ensure that the kitchen will be clean before bedtime.

Related articles

Using Variable Rewards to Drive Behavior Change
How my New Year "resolutions" are going
The science of new year's resolutions: Why 88% fail and how to make them work
storing something somewhere you can remember it
3 New Year's Resolutions that Will Make You Happier

2 thoughts on “Grand resolutions vs tiny habits

Leave a comment